Withering warmth

.....

Somehow, the onset of holidays and vacation is not bringing the kind of joy that I expected. This is a personal post. Pretty pensive.

This post is dedicated to all people who once shared something deep and real called friendship. And the very same who have drifted far.

Yes, this includes you who just sends a mail why there’s no post on the blog for sometime. This also includes you with whom I have restricted conversations because we have different viewpoints on things. Also includes you who cites being very busy when I remind you of no phone calls. It also includes you who were my Friday lunch partner to try out all the restaurants in the area. And to go to Bengloor Habba and other places at the drop of a hat. To try out all whacky things. To make pledges to go bungee jumping.

This includes you all with whom I discuss all my plans for a road trip and for every 10 such intense plannings, one happens. All the reply-all mails with fun and frolic.

Life has lost its charm without all of you. The morning is a little less chirpy because your absence is felt. Our real and mock fights are substituted with a polite and diplomatic – How are you? Howz life?

The shopping till the last penny and thinking if we can afford to pay up when the credit card bill arrives and giggling about the whole thing is replaced with careful consideration and saying no. Well, wisdom, you see.

Your Good morning mails that used to arrive everyday and I’d taken for granted is now so so rare that I’ve given up even expecting it anymore. Missing the fight over the samosa where we used to call each other expletives for not being able to lay hands on the third samosa and eat everything like pigs..or say piglets?

Missing the privilege of pulling people out of cube where they’re doing something very urgent and important just because you want to drink juice and chatting for over an hour. More than everything, missing the liberty I’ve taken with all of you.

Fought with my inhibition of posting anything personal just because it makes me vulnerable. There’s just no point appearing strong when something inside wants the lost beauty and is hurting.

10 comments so far

  1. Rk on

    Hi there…no matter what, trust me to leave a long comment, as usual 🙂 so here i go…

    moving post..

    not sure where i stand in your circle..but let me attempt 😉
    //This post is dedicated to all people who once shared something deep and real called friendship. And the very same who have drifted far.//

    Am not sure if I have figured out what is friendship..i keep getting confused 🙂 anywaysh, if i was a part of first, i can say i haven’t done anything to be part of latter..

    >>Yes, this includes you who just sends a mail why there’s no post on the blog for sometime.//
    yesh yesh…i asked u on chat ..:)

    //This also includes you with whom I have restricted conversations because we have different viewpoints on things//
    ..i have no viewpoints..am usually confused & keep wondering if i am wrong..so this ish not me..

    //Also includes you who cites being very busy when I remind you of no phone calls.//
    me never busy…also am not too comfortable with phone calls anywaysh.. sho thish ish not me.

    //It also includes you who were my Friday lunch partner to try out all the restaurants in the area. And to go to Bengloor Habba and other places at the drop of a hat. To try out all whacky things. To make pledges to go bungee jumping.//
    Did you bungee jump ? am scared man…my biggest adventure would be to run half marathon..he he.nothing more will i attempt.

    //This includes you all with whom I discuss all my plans for a road trip and for every 10 such intense plannings, one happens. All the reply-all mails with fun and frolic.//
    yeah yeah…i am a part of this..yo yo 🙂 so when are you starting first of 10 plannings ? 🙂

    //Life has lost its charm without all of you.//
    no no..look in mirror..you(life) are still charming 😉 he he…did that make you smile..a little at least ? 🙂
    //The morning is a little less chirpy because your absence is felt.//
    ok,jokes apart…no comments. dont know what to say.other than that..feeling is mutual.

    //Our real and mock fights are substituted with a polite and diplomatic – How are you? Howz life?//
    go..we never fought.. 😦

    //Your Good morning mails that used to arrive everyday and I’d taken for granted is now so so rare that I’ve given up even expecting it anymore//
    nooooooooo noooooooo…mine is still consistent,alive and kicking..though the thought to kill it comes every now and then…

    //Fought with my inhibition of posting anything personal just because it makes me vulnerable.//
    Who ishn’t …but then…

    //There’s just no point appearing strong when something inside wants the lost beauty and is hurting.//
    Quote of the day…the sentence in bold of the post.
    A silent nod, a drop of tear,a lump in throat, a difficult smile..is the reply.

  2. chaitra on

    Oh baby.. 😦

  3. Rk on

    my comment is still waiting moderation..even though i submitted long long ago on 25th dec itself…eee

  4. Rk on

    I try again..

    Hi there…no matter what, trust me to leave a long comment, as usual 🙂 so here i go…

    moving post..

    not sure where i stand in your circle..but let me attempt 😉
    //This post is dedicated to all people who once shared something deep and real called friendship. And the very same who have drifted far.//

    Am not sure if I have figured out what is friendship..i keep getting confused 🙂 anywaysh, if i was a part of first, i can say i haven’t done anything to be part of latter..

    >>Yes, this includes you who just sends a mail why there’s no post on the blog for sometime.//
    yesh yesh…i asked u on chat ..:)

    //This also includes you with whom I have restricted conversations because we have different viewpoints on things//
    ..i have no viewpoints..am usually confused & keep wondering if i am wrong..so this ish not me..

    //Also includes you who cites being very busy when I remind you of no phone calls.//
    me never busy…also am not too comfortable with phone calls anywaysh.. sho thish ish not me.

    //It also includes you who were my Friday lunch partner to try out all the restaurants in the area. And to go to Bengloor Habba and other places at the drop of a hat. To try out all whacky things. To make pledges to go bungee jumping.//
    Did you bungee jump ? am scared man…my biggest adventure would be to run half marathon..he he.nothing more will i attempt.

    //This includes you all with whom I discuss all my plans for a road trip and for every 10 such intense plannings, one happens. All the reply-all mails with fun and frolic.//
    yeah yeah…i am a part of this..yo yo 🙂 so when are you starting first of 10 plannings ? 🙂

    //Life has lost its charm without all of you.//
    no no..look in mirror..you(life) are still charming 😉 he he…did that make you smile..a little at least ? 🙂
    //The morning is a little less chirpy because your absence is felt.//
    ok,jokes apart…no comments. dont know what to say.other than that..feeling is mutual.

    //Our real and mock fights are substituted with a polite and diplomatic – How are you? Howz life?//
    go..we never fought.. 😦

    //Your Good morning mails that used to arrive everyday and I’d taken for granted is now so so rare that I’ve given up even expecting it anymore//
    nooooooooo noooooooo…mine is still consistent,alive and kicking..though the thought to kill it comes every now and then…

    //Fought with my inhibition of posting anything personal just because it makes me vulnerable.//
    Who ishn’t …but then…

    //There’s just no point appearing strong when something inside wants the lost beauty and is hurting.//
    Quote of the day…the sentence in bold of the post.
    A silent nod, a drop of tear,a lump in throat, a difficult smile..is the reply.

  5. Dummy on

    Really nice……is it something like…wisdom and sense of maturity overriding all the insignificant (sometimes significant) things we used to enjoy???

  6. Explorer on

    Wah! This reminds me of the time when you’d take your pictures when you had just bought your camera. hahaha..

    Relationship is a string, a bond, that atleast two people hold the either end of. People drift away from relationships because you let go of your end. It takes two to tango. While living a mostly preoccupied life these days, people tend to sideline things that matter the most. Some relationships are way too precious to ever let go. These are the gifts of life. These are the things that make life so meaningful.

    Look around you, my dear. Do you see your clones or individuals with the capacity to make their minds as they deem it fit? If you end up cutting down on every relationship because your opinions don’t match, what are you left with? Wouldn’t it be better if you just agree to disagree?

    The rest…for the time when we meet. 🙂

  7. aurorawonders on

    RK

    Thanks for taking time to reply to the post and sweet reply. Especially liked the last line you signed off with. Your comment made me smile. It sure did with the reference to life etc.. Yelagiri was sure something. Just like all the trips our group makes. I know..time to start planning another one. That can happen sometime in June or July. That’s when Dummy comes back too.

  8. aurorawonders on

    chaitra

    Yeah baby.. Thanks. You’re one of the very very few.. who I’ve not let to drift apart. 🙂

  9. aurorawonders on

    Dummy

    Welcome to Aurora. After disbelief that it’s my blog and refusing to acknowledge, you finally came around to accepting that it’s indeed my blog. 🙂
    Yeah. Maturity overrides. There’s got to be some advantage of growing up, right? Everything else about it sucks.

  10. aurorawonders on

    Explorer

    Yeah. I like the pictures that look like the time I bought my camera. With less of the technicalities and photographic brilliance, and more of the youth and joy that filled the frame. 🙂

    Yeah. It takes two to a relationship. And time and distance too plays a part. More than anything, I guess I’ve come to terms with agreeing to disagree on a few things. More because experience has taught me that it’s not an easy path the other way.


Leave a Reply

